Artist-in-Residence Program

Open daily 12:00 – 21:00, Monday – closed
Ural Instrument-Making Plant, Gorkogo street, 17, 2nd floor

Artist-in-Residence program is one of the strategic projects of the Ural Industrial Biennial. For the first time it was held in the framework of the 2nd Biennial in 2012 and since then has accepted more than 20 artists from 9 countries who have created more than 30 art objects.

The program is aimed at cooperation between authors working in various disciplines of visual art, and operating plants. In this way, the Ural art residences fundamentally differ from many others in the world practice: artists get the opportunity to immerse themselves in the specifics of the region, with its features, myths and way of life. Here they get acquainted with the Urals industrial heritage and explore the production processes of existing enterprises.

Participation in the program of art residences allows to develop topics, techniques and technologies in a new context, to get a new experience of artistic production. This is facilitated by interaction with the industrial heritage, including not only the factories with their diverse history, but also railways, quarries, dams, forests and rivers.

For the curator of the Artist-in-Residence program Zhenya Chaika, it is important to comply with the general theme of the Biennial, because the intersection of the artist's creative interests with the aims of the project is essential for creating a holistic exhibition.

Zhenya Chaika:

– Understanding of the New Literacy is impossible outside the industrial field. The Internet of things, digital, VR and other phenomena characteristic of the fourth industrial revolution lead us further away from the material structure of the world. Meanwhile, to create one server, you need to process a lot of fossils. It is impossible to reach a new level of literacy without mastering the previous one. Within the framework of the Artist-in-Residence program, the approach to new literacy is carried out with the help of archeology searching for moments that change everyday life, the city, the landscape, the language. Through the exposure of transitional moments, the Urals are deconstructed to the basic elements: one of the tasks of art residencies is to make these elements visible. And this gives the Artist-in-Residence program the character of a large research project.

Besides the final exhibition, this year the Artist-in-Residence Program has launched Tours across Ural towns and industrial enterprises. Tours start every weekend from the Instrument-Making Plant.

 

 

Exhibition view

           Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

            Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

                 Hector Zamora. Nondestructive assays. Sound performance

              Nina Bisyarina. Splavni. Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

  Rudy Decelier. About the Heaviest Wave. Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

                                     Zhenya Machneva. White pavilion. Photo by Tanya Akhmetgalieva

                                                 Hannaleena Heiska. Treasury. Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

                                           Tanya Akhmetgalieva. Flakes. Photo by Evgeny Litvinov

 

 

Ru
En

Программа арт-резиденций

Ежедневно 12:00 – 21:00, ПН – выходной
Уральский Приборостроительный завод, ул. Горького, 17, 2 этаж

Программа Арт-резиденций — это один из стратегических проектов Уральской индустриальной Биеннале. Впервые она состоялась в рамках 2-й биеннале в 2012 году и с тех пор приняла более 20 художников из 9 стран, которые создали более 30 арт-объектов.

Программа нацелена на сотрудничество между авторами, работающими в различных дисциплинах визуального искусства, и действующими заводами. Этим уральские арт-резиденции принципиально отличаются от многих других в мировой практике: художники получают возможность непосредственного погружения в специфику региона, с его особенностями, мифами и образом жизни. Здесь они знакомятся с уральским индустриальным наследием и исследуют производственные процессы действующих предприятий.

Участие в программе арт-резиденций позволяет развивать темы, техники и технологии в новом контексте, получить новый опыт художественного производства. Этому способствует взаимодействие с индустриальным наследием, включающим не только сами заводы с их разнообразной историей, но и железные дороги, карьеры, плотины, леса и реки.

Для куратора программы арт-резиденций Жени Чайки важно соответствие общей теме биеннале, поскольку пересечение творческих интересов художника с задачами проекта необходимо для создания целостной выставки.

Женя Чайка:

– Осмысление новой грамотности невозможно вне индустриального поля. Интернет вещей, диджитал, дополненная реальность и прочие явления, характерные для четвертой промышленной революции, уводят нас все дальше от материального устройства мира. Между тем, чтобы создать один сервер, нужно достать из недр и обработать множество ископаемых. Выйти на новый уровень грамотности невозможно без освоения предыдущего. В рамках программы Арт-резиденций подход к новой грамотности осуществляется с помощью археологии — через поиск моментов смены повседневности, города, ландшафта, языка. Через обнажение переходных моментов происходит деконструкция Урала до базовых элементов: одна из задач арт-резиденций — сделать эти элементы видимыми. И это придает программе арт-резиденций характер большого исследовательского проекта.

Помимо итоговой выставки в рамках программы арт-резиденций этого года запущен цикл маршрутов по городам и производственным предприятиям Урала, который стартуют каждый выходные от здания Приборостроительного завода. 

 

 

Ru
En